Digital Citizenship: As Good As It Gets?

Privacy            I was challenged this week to explore digital citizenship and all of its entities. Digital citizenship (defined) is a multitude of facets but specific examples of digital literacy, according to Edutopia, include online etiquette (“netiquette”), using the internet responsibly, and understanding technology. These are just some of the points I could touch on due to time and word constraints.

            “Netiquette” to me is being polite and courteous on social media sites, as well as not slandering and defaming anyone in such a way that would cause them any psychological, mental, or social harm. What I got from this after continued research is basically, don’t talk trash about anyone or anything, as either could come back to hurt you later on down the road, whether your comments or actions caused the subject of your defamation harm or not.

            Using the internet responsibly is doing what you need to do on it and not using into questionable or flag-raising searches or websites. For example, visiting a website detailing the goals and intentions of the ISIS military group, while looking at a YouTube video on how to make a bomb would be categorized as questionable or flag-raising. Other examples could include going onto prohibited sites, gaining restricted information, or viewing sites that come into conflict with values or beliefs.

            Not a lot of people understand technology and how everything works. Some people fail to realize that putting your phone number or email address on the web in the open where it can be seen by many people is a great way for those to be sold to outside companies. These companies sell your information to other companies or use it for their own gain by sending spam mail and scams, while telemarketing or using your phone number to gain other valuable information. One of the best way to prevent this from happening is to adjust the privacy settings on your social media accounts so that not everyone can see the information you provide. Though it is not a cure-all, it does help.

            Since I have done this digital citizenship research project and viewed Teach Thought’s video, I have begun thinking about everything I have posted in the past on my social media sites (many of which I no longer use) and what information may be on them. I can honestly say that as soon as I have a decent amount of time to do nothing, I will be going back to those social media sites and deleting what I can. Though it won’t get rid of them permanently (since it may have been favorited, reposted, or screen-shot), I can only hope that what is out there won’t come back to haunt me in the future.

I was also challenged to Google myself and see the results that came up. There were a lot of wrestling articles that show up as well as a news article (video included) concerning the time I “broke” into the UNL stadium. It was a slow news night and blown a little out of proportion but I’ve dealt with it and have owned up to it.

Leave a Reply

